Tennis Set to Host Grizzly Open in Lawrenceville

GGC senior Hernan Hatem

Oct. 15, 2013

Tournament home page

The Georgia Gwinnett men’s and women’s tennis teams will host their first ever invitational this weekend with the Grizzly Open, Friday through Sunday at the GGC Tennis Facility in Lawrenceville.

The Grizzlies will welcome players from 15 colleges and universities across the Southeast to compete in men’s and women’s singles and doubles action. Schools represented include NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA members.

The tournament will begin on Friday, Oct. 18 at 6 p.m. and continues on Saturday and Sunday beginning at 8 a.m. each day.

Singles matches will be the best two-out-of-three sets, with a 10-point tiebreaker deciding third sets until the semifinal round, when the entire match is played out.

Players will be divided into A, B and C tiers in men’s singles, and A and B tiers in women’s singles. A consolation bracket guarantees each player at least two matches overall.

All doubles matches will be eight-game pro sets.

“We are extremely excited to be welcoming many of the finest tennis players in the Southeast to our facility and the inaugural Grizzly Open,” GGC’s head men’s and women’s tennis coach Chase Hodges said. “We look forward to showcasing our beautiful complex and hosting a weekend of extremely high-caliber tennis. It will be both a great challenge and a tremendous opportunity for our Grizzlies.”

The event marks the final competition for GGC players this fall. Representing the Grizzlies on the men’s side will be Hernan Hatem, Matias Hatem, Tony Kostadinov, Erik Moberg, Evgeny Silitski and Bruno Tiberti.



The women’s draw will feature Paloma Cortina, Rocio Fernandez, Luma Schwab and Victoria Svensson.

Final tournament draws are expected to be completed Wednesday and will be available on the tournament page online here.

The GGC Tennis Facility is located at 100 Countryside Place in Lawrenceville, approximately half a mile north of the GGC main entrance on Collins Hill Road. Admission all weekend is free of charge.

Tournament entrants: Alabama State, Austin Peay, Berry, Brenau, Dalton State, Georgia Gwinnett, Georgia Southwestern, Itawamba CC, Kennesaw State, Palm Beach Atlantic, Point, Presbyterian, Reinhardt, UT Chattanooga, Tennessee Tech and West Georgia.